A. M. Homes wins Women’s Prize for Fiction

The 2013 Women’s Prize for Fiction was awarded to A.M. Homes, a lecturer in creative writing and the Lewis Center for the Arts, for her novel May We Be Forgiven. The £30,000 ($46,000) prize rewards Continue Reading →

Alexander Polyakov wins Fundamental Physics Prize

Alexander Polyakov, the Joseph Henry Professor of Physics, received the $3 million Fundamental Physics Prize in 2013 for his work in field theory and string theory. His ideas have dominated work in these fields during Continue Reading →

American Mathematical Society awards Steele Prizes to Yakov Sinai, Philip Holmes

Professor of Mathematics Yakov Sinai was awarded the American Mathematical Society (AMS)’s Leroy P. Steele Prize for Lifetime Achievement, one of the highest distinctions in mathematics. Sinai was honored for his “pivotal role in shaping Continue Reading →

Three win Guggenheim Fellowships

Three professors have received 2013 Guggenheim Fellowships for demonstrated excellence in scholarship or creative work. D. Graham Burnett, professor of history; Deana Lawson, lecturer in visual arts and the Lewis Center for the Arts; and Continue Reading →

Mung Chiang wins National Science Foundation Alan T. Waterman Award

Mung Chiang, the Arthur LeGrand Doty Professor of Electrical Engineering, received the 2013 Alan T. Waterman Award from the National Science Foundation (NSF) for his work in designing wireless networks. The $1 million award recognizes Continue Reading →

William G. Bowen and Natalie Davis receive National Humanities Medal

At a White House ceremony, William G. Bowen, Princeton’s 17th president, and Natalie Zemon Davis, the Henry Charles Lea Professor of History, Emerita, were awarded the National Humanities Medal for 2012. The medal recognizes 12 Continue Reading →

David Botstein wins Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences

The 2013 Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences was awarded to David Botstein, the Anthony B. Evnin ’62 Professor of Genomics. The $3 million prize acknowledges achievements in research aimed at “curing intractable diseases and extending Continue Reading →