

ROBERT KEOHANE receives James Madison Award in American political science

Robert Keohane, professor of public and international affairs at the Woodrow Wilson School, received the 2014 James Madison Award from the American Political Science Association (APSA).

The award, given once every three years, "recognizes an American political scientist who has made a distinguished scholarly contribution to political science." The official citation describes Keohane as a "complete scholar" and cites his extensive writing in the field of international politics, his mentorship of generations of students, his dedication to the discipline, and his commitment to the association as the basis for his award.

APSA also cited Keohane's past work, including After Hegemony: Cooperation and Discord in the World Political Economy (1984) and Designing Social Inquiry (1994), as having had an impact on scholarship in international affairs for many years.

"We are thrilled that Bob received the James Madison Award," said Cecilia Rouse, dean of the Woodrow Wilson School and the Lawrence and Shirley Katzman and Lewis and Anna Ernst Professor in the Economics of Education. "His work has had and continues to have a profound impact on the profession. We celebrate his honor as one of the leaders in political science." -By Eric Wilkens

Phi Beta Kappa Society

Carol Greenhouse, Arthur W. Marks '19 Professor of Anthropology: 2015 visiting scholar

Society for Philosophy and Psychology

Sarah-Jane Leslie, Class of 1943 Professor of Philosophy: 2015 Stanton Award

Society for the Foundations of Computational Mathematics

Mark Braverman, professor of computer science: 2014 Stephen Smale Prize

Society of Experimental Social Psychology

Susan Fiske, Eugene Higgins Professor of Psychology: 2014 Distinguished Scientist Award

University of Maryland Clark School of Engineering

Naomi Leonard, Edwin S. Wilsey Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering: 2014 Glenn L. Martin Medal

University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill School of Medicine

David Tank, Henry L. Hillman Professor in Molecular Biology: 2015 Perl-UNC Neuroscience Prize

University of Wisconsin-Madison

Emily Carter, Gerhard R. Andlinger Professor in Energy and the Environment: 2015-16 Joseph O. Hirschfelder Prize in Theoretical Chemistry

U.S. Commission on International Religious Freedom

Robert George, McCormick Professor of Jurisprudence: 2014 Ahmadiyya Muslim Humanitarian Award

INTERNATIONAL PRIZES AND DISTINCTIONS

Academy of Athens

Christodoulos Floudas, Stephen C. Macaleer '63 Professor in Engineering and Applied Science, Emeritus: 2015 *Corresponding Member*

Alexander S. Onassis Public Benefit Foundation

Gene Grossman, Jacob Viner Professor of International Economics: 2015 Onassis Prize for International Trade

Alexander von Humboldt Foundation

Ali Yazdani, Class of 1909 Professor of Physics: 2014 Humboldt Research Award

Shivaji Sondhi, professor of physics: 2015 Humboldt Research Award

Brazilian Studies Association

Bruno Carvalho, associate professor of Spanish and Portuguese languages and cultures: 2014 Roberto Reis Book Award for "Porous City: A Cultural History of Rio de Janeiro"

Ca' Foscari University of Venice

Simon Levin, George M. Moffett Professor of Biology: 2014 Pacioli Award

Dan David Foundation

Peter Brown, Philip and Beulah Rollins Professor of History, Emeritus: 2015 Dan David Prize

European Association for Signal Processing

H. Vincent Poor, dean, School of Engineering and Applied Science; Michael Henry Strater University Professor of Electrical Engineering: 2015 Athanasios Papoulis Award

European Physical Society Plasma Physics Division

Nathaniel Fisch, professor of astrophysical sciences: 2015 *Hannes Alfvén Prize*

Formentor Group

Ricardo Piglia, Walter S. Carpenter Professor of Language, Literature and Civilization of Spain, Emeritus: 2015 Formentor Prize for Literature