American Geophysical Union

Bess Ward, William J. Sinclair Professor of Geosciences: 2014 Rachel Carson Lecture Award

American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics

Alexander Smits, Eugene Higgins Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering: 2014 Aerodynamic Measurement Technology Award

American Philosophical Society

David Tank, Henry L. Hillman Professor in Molecular Biology: 2015 Karl Spencer Lashley Award

American Public Health Association

John Storey, William R. Harman '63 and Mary-Love Harman Professor in Genomics: 2015 Mortimer Spiegelman Award

American Society for Microbiology

Alexander Ploss, assistant professor of molecular biology: 2015 Merck Irving S. Sigal Memorial Award

American Sociological Association

Douglas Massey, Henry G. Bryant Professor of Sociology and Public Affairs, Woodrow Wilson School: 2014 Robert and Helen Lynd Career Lifetime Achievement Award

Chicago Tribune

Chang-rae Lee, professor of creative writing in the Lewis Center for the Arts: 2015 Heartland Prize for Fiction for "On Such a Full Sea"

Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory

David Botstein, Anthony B. Evnin '62 Professor of Genomics, Emeritus: 2015 Double Helix Medal

Council on Foreign Relations

Gary Bass, professor of politics and international affairs: 2014 Arthur Ross Book Award for "The Blood Telegram: Nixon, Kissinger, and a Forgotten Genocide"

Design Automation Conference

Margaret Martonosi, Hugh Trumbull Adams '35 Professor of Computer Science: 2015 Marie R. Pistilli Women in Electronic Design Automation Achievement Award

Ernst Schering Foundation

David MacMillan, James S. McDonnell Distinguished University Professor of Chemistry: 2015 Ernst Schering Prize

Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology (FASEB)

Bonnie Bassler, Squibb Professor in Molecular Biology: 2016 FASEB Excellence in Science Award

Fusion Power Associates

Ronald Davidson, professor of astrophysical sciences, emeritus: 2014 Distinguished Career Award

Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers

Bede Liu, professor of electrical engineering, emeritus: 2016 Fourier Award for Signal Processing

Modern Language Association

Devin Fore, associate professor of German: 2014 Aldo and Jeanne Scaglione Prize for Studies in Germanic Languages and Literatures

The National Academies

Margaret Martonosi, Hugh Trumbull Adams '35 Professor of Computer Science: 2015 Jefferson Science Fellow

National Academy of Sciences

Yael Niv, associate professor of psychology and the Princeton Neuroscience Institute: 2015 Troland Research Award

New York Academy of Medicine

Uwe Reinhardt, James Madison Professor of Political Economy: 2014 New York Academy of Medicine Award

New York Dance and Performance Awards

Stuart Singer, lecturer in dance and the Lewis Center for the Arts: 2014 NY Dance and Performance "Bessie" Award for Outstanding Performer

PEN American Center

Karen Emmerich, assistant professor of comparative literature: 2014 PEN Award

Edmund Keeley, Charles Barnwell Straut Class of 1923 Professor of English, Emeritus: 2014 PEN Award



DAVID TANK receives Brain Prize for advance in microscopy

David Tank, the Henry L. Hillman Professor in Molecular Biology and co-director of the Princeton Neuroscience Institute, has been named one of four winners of the Brain Prize, an honor that recognizes scientists who have made outstanding contributions to brain research.

Tank was presented the prize by His Royal Highness Crown Prince Frederik of Denmark on May 7, 2015, in Copenhagen. He shares the 1 million euro, or roughly \$1,085,000, prize with Winfried Denk of the Max Planck Institute of Neurobiology in Munich; Arthur Konnerth of the Technical University of Munich; and Karel Svoboda of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute in Chevy Chase, Maryland.

The researchers were selected for the invention, development and application of two-photon microscopy, a technology that combines advanced techniques from physics and biology to allow scientists to examine the finest structures of the brain in real time.

"Thanks to these four scientists we're now able to study the normal brain's development and attempt to understand what goes wrong when we're affected by destructive diseases such as Alzheimer's and other types of dementia," said Professor Povl Krogsgaard-Larsen, chair of the Grete Lundbeck European Brain Research Foundation, which awards the prize. —By Michael Hotchkiss