

JHUMPA LAHIRI awarded National Humanities Medal

Jhumpa Lahiri, whose novels and short stories explore the immigrant experience, family, love, language and cultural identity, was named a recipient of the 2014 National Humanities Medal. The medal was conferred by President Barack Obama at a ceremony at the White House on Sept. 10, 2015.

The citation for the award honored Lahiri, who joined the faculty in 2015 as a professor of creative writing in the Lewis Center for the Arts, "for enlarging the human story. In her works of fiction, Dr. Lahiri has illuminated the Indian-American experience in beautifully wrought narratives of estrangement and belonging."

Her 1999 debut collection of short stories, *Interpreter of Maladies*, which probes issues of love and identity among immigrants and cultural transplants, won the 2000 Pulitzer Prize for fiction, the PEN/Hemingway Award and The New Yorker's Best Debut of the Year Award. Her 2013 novel *The Lowland* was a National Book Award and Man Booker Prize finalist. Her 2003 novel *The Namesake* was released as a film in 2007.

Lahiri's most recent book of short stories, Unaccustomed Earth, received the 2008 Frank O'Connor International Short Story Award and was a finalist for the Story Prize. Her forthcoming book, In Other Words, explores the often emotionally fraught links between identity and language. –By Jamie Saxon

David and Lucile Packard Foundation Fellowship for Science and Engineering

Sabine Petry, assistant professor of molecular biology (2014)

Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA) Young Faculty Award

David Wentzlaff, assistant professor of electrical engineering (2014)

Department of Energy Office of Science Early Career Research Award

Luis Delgado-Aparicio, research physicist (2015)

Ecological Society of America Early Career Fellow

Robert Pringle, assistant professor of ecology and evolutionary biology (2015)

Edward Mallinckrodt Jr. Foundation Scholar

Ileana Cristea, associate professor of molecular biology (2015)

Ewing Marion Kauffman Foundation Junior Faculty Fellow

Benjamin Moll, assistant professor of economics and international affairs (2014)

Fulbright Scholar Fellowship

Isabelle Clark-Decès, professor of anthropology (2015)

Institute of Mathematical Statistics Tweedie New Researcher Award

Han Liu, assistant professor of operations research and financial engineering (2015)

National Institutes of Health Director's New Innovator Award

Timothy Buschman, assistant professor of psychology and the Princeton Neuroscience Institute (2014)

Mala Murthy, assistant professor of molecular biology and the Princeton Neuroscience Institute (2014)

National Science Foundation Early Career Development Award

Mark Brynildsen, assistant professor of chemical and biological engineering (2015)

Zeev Dvir, assistant professor of computer science (2015)

Han Liu, assistant professor of operations research and financial engineering (2015)

Alejandro Rodriguez, assistant professor of electrical engineering (2015)

David Wentzlaff, assistant professor of electrical engineering (2015)

Pew Charitable Trusts Scholar in the Biomedical Sciences

Carolyn "Lindy" McBride,

assistant professor of ecology and evolutionary biology and the Princeton Neuroscience Institute (2015)

Simons Foundation Investigator Award

Moses Charikar, professor of computer science (2014)

Christopher Skinner, professor of mathematics (2015)

Anatoly Spitkovsky, professor of astrophysical sciences (2014)

PRIZES AND DISTINCTIONS

Alcatel-Lucent Bell Labs

Emmanuel Abbe, assistant professor of electrical engineering and the Program in Applied and Computational Mathematics: 2014 Bell Labs Prize

American Association for Cancer Research

Yibin Kang, Warner-Lambert/ Parke-Davis Professor of Molecular Biology: 2014 Outstanding Investigator Award for Breast Cancer Research

American Astronomical Society and the American Institute of Physics

David Spergel, Charles A. Young Professor of Astronomy on the Class of 1897 Foundation: 2015 Dannie Heineman Prize

American Chemical Society

Abigail Doyle, associate professor of chemistry: 2015 National Fresenius Award

John Groves, Hugh Stott Taylor Chair of Chemistry: 2015 ACS Award in Inorganic Chemistry

American Finance Association

Yuliy Sannikov, professor of economics: 2015 Fischer Black Prize