# SELECTED FACULTY HONORS

#### MEMBERSHIPS AND FELLOWSHIPS

Academy of American Poets Tracy K. Smith, professor of creative writing in the Lewis Center for the Arts (2014)

#### American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Sanjeev Arora, Charles C. Fitzmorris Professor in Computer Science (2015)

Martin Gilens, professor of politics (2015)

Ali Yazdani, Class of 1909 Professor of Physics (2015)

#### **American Economic Association**

**Gregory Chow**, Class of 1913 Professor of Political Economy, Emeritus (2014)

#### American Institute for Sri Lankan Studies Fellowship

**Isabelle Clark-Decès**, professor of anthropology (2015)

## American Institute of Chemical Engineers

**Richard Register**, Eugene Higgins Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering (2014)

#### **American Philosophical Society**

John Fleming, Louis W. Fairchild '24 Professor of English and Comparative Literature, Emeritus (2015)

**Martin Kern**, Greg ('84) and Joanna (P13) Zeluck Professor in Asian Studies

**Thomas Shenk**, James A. Elkins Jr. Professor in the Life Sciences (2015)

#### American Physical Society

**Suzanne Staggs**, Henry DeWolf Smyth Professor of Physics (2014)

#### Andrew Carnegie Fellowship

Max Weiss, associate professor of history and Near Eastern studies (2015)

#### Andrew W. Mellon Foundation New Directions Fellowship

**Meredith Martin**, associate professor of English (2015)

### Association for Computing Machinery

Adam Finkelstein, professor of computer science (2014)

**Sharad Malik**, George Van Ness Lothrop Professor in Engineering (2014)

#### Donald D. Harrington Fellows Program

**Brian Herrera**, assistant professor of theater in the Lewis Center for the Arts (2014)

#### **Econometric Society**

**Mikhail Golosov**, Chemical Bank Chairman's Professor of Economics (2015)

**Ulrich Mueller**, professor of economics (2015)

#### Gordon and Betty Moore

Foundation Investigator Award Robert Cava, Russell Wellman Moore Professor of Chemistry (2014)

**M. Zahid Hasan**, professor of physics (2014)

**Nai Phuan Ong**, Eugene Higgins Professor of Physics (2014)

Jason Petta, professor of physics (2014)

**Loren Pfeiffer**, senior research scholar, electrical engineering (2014)

Mansour Shayegan, professor of electrical engineering (2014)



#### **BONNIE BASSLER** receives Shaw Prize in life science and medicine

Bonnie Bassler, the Squibb Professor in Molecular Biology and chair of the Department of Molecular Biology, was named a 2015 Shaw Laureate in life science and medicine on June 1, 2015. Awarded by the Hong Kong-based Shaw Foundation, the Shaw Prize honors recent breakthroughs by active researchers in the fields of mathematics, astronomy, and life and medical sciences.

Bassler was recognized for her well-known work in quorum sensing, a widespread process that bacteria use for cell-to-cell communication. Understanding quorum sensing "offers innovative ways to interfere with bacterial pathogens or to modulate the microbiome for health applications," according to the prize citation. Bassler, a Howard Hughes Medical Institute investigator, shares the \$1 million prize with E. Peter Greenberg, a University of Washington professor of microbiology. The 2015 prizes were awarded during a Sept. 24 ceremony in Hong Kong. **-By Morgan Kelly**